Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.


Tradition Never Dies

Fought in the barren and hostile terrain of the North West frontier on 12th September 1897, the battle of Saragarhi, in which 21 Sikh soldiers of the British Indian Army valiantly fought and died defending their post against insurmountable odds, is alarmingly neglected in the pages of modern history.

On the 12th September 2010 the Anglo Sikh Heritage Trail, supported by former head of the British Army, Sir Richard Dannatt, His Honour Judge Sir Mota Singh QC and Pops from Tigerstyle  launched Saragarhi Day, a national campaign to mark the anniversary of this eponymous Battle. The day was marked by a series of events across the UK to recognise the contribution Sikh soldiers have made in the past and continue to make today.

As part of campaign we are asking for the public to get involved by suggesting what events and activities you would like to see in your local area to mark Saragarhi Day.

Join the campaigns' Facebook Page, Saragarhi: Tradition Never Dies, to keep uptodate with all the latest campaign news and make your event suggestions.

The 21 Sikh officers and soldiers who laid down their lives in the Battle of Saragarhi were:

• Havildar Ishar Singh (regimental number 165)
• Naik Lal Singh (332)
• Lance Naik Chanda Singh (546)
• Sepoy Sundar Singh (1321)
• Sepoy Ram Singh (287)
• Sepoy Uttar Singh (492)
• Sepoy Sahib Singh (182)
• Sepoy Hira Singh (359)
• Sepoy Daya Singh (687)
• Sepoy Jivan Singh (760)
• Sepoy Bhola Singh (791)
• Sepoy Narayan Singh (834)
• Sepoy Gurmukh Singh (814)
• Sepoy Jivan Singh (871)
• Sepoy Gurmukh Singh (1733)
• Sepoy Ram Singh (163)
• Sepoy Bhagwan Singh (1257)
• Sepoy Bhagwan Singh (1265)
• Sepoy Buta Singh (1556)
• Sepoy Jivan Singh (1651)
• Sepoy Nand Singh (1221)

Click image to enlarge